Well, at least they were charitable criminals

Two crap things:

1. I’m not very well, and my head feels like its filling up with helium, and not tin the good ‘laughing gas at Leeds festival’ sorta way. The snotty way. I have nearly 10 hours at work tomorrow and refuse to call in sick. That is the stubborn capitalist in me. MONEY.

2. I have been locked out of my bank account for the next week. I received a letter from Nationwide’s Special Investigations team, alerting me that there had been possibly fraudulent transactions on my card. I rang them up, which was a difficult thing for me to do (I hat hate hate phones). My account is now frozen for outgoing payments till I receive my new card and pin number. They tried to buy £250 of goods off the internet, but curiously also tried to make a donation of £2 something to Christian Aid. So they are also nice fraudsters haha.

Weirdly enough, in this climate of fear that most people in Britain live in, I don’t feel violated by this, that someone had my details and thus was trying to pinch my hard-earned wages and student loan. I don’t feel the sudden urge to write a letter to the Daily Mail wailing “I’ve been duped, probably by one of those LORD FORSAKEN Lebanese Loops. As it is called Lebanese, it must mean the criminals are those funny speaking foreigners. VOTE BNP!”

But I’m not, because that is totally bonkers. If anything, I was more pissed off when some scumbag stole my phone out of my work fleece a year ago. It was a brand new phone that cost over £100. It shows the clientèle I get. I had my phone blacklisted and bought a new one. These fraud’sters’ got away with nothing, so yar boo to them.

It does mean that just like when I was 17 I am relying on Mummy and Daddy for moula.

 Not crap things:

1. I love this, but am unsure of whether to get it (not that I’ll have a chance as I can;t use my card, I could beg Leo/my Mum) because its unaccredited wool…but it is looovely:

 

Mivvy Hoodie, £40 reduced from £80. Howies 

 A flash of colour in the hood, crinkly look, BUTTONS (god, I love buttons on things, its the grandma in me)

2. Whilst fighting our way through the Cake-and-sausage-roll Cub Brigade and 50+ Axa Sun Life Subscriber ‘Oooh isn’t he lovley’ Dodgery Old Woman Society, my Dad and I encountered organic spinach and ricotta tortellini. HUZZAH! My Dad has pledged to only buy organic/free range pig meat now, after reading in the Times that outdoor reared pork still means that the pig spends its last three months in a unroofed shed. Not acceptable.  But my Dad is a chorizo fiend, and organic charcuterie meats are difficult to come by in supermarkets/farmer’s markets. I have found some online suppliers though, so my papi doesn’t have to go without.

Found a lovely alternative to the very pricey Frogprince necklace I posted before:

 Prince Charming, approx £12

Bonus points for being reworked vintage. Saves raw materials and give stuff a new lease of life, and is approx 15% of the price of the other necklace, ha. My Mum is looking for vintage Emerald (her birthstone) rings for her 25th wedding anniversary/birthday (same day, like Shakespeare. My Mum’s ambition is to die on her birthday like him too). I’d personally got for an Art Nouveau piece, but my Mum’s not really a Nouveau person. I imagine her as more Deco than anything.

Anyway, I’m rambling now, so I bid you adieu. (And can I just say that I had my highest number of visitors yesterday, so thanks to you lovely pixelated computer people!)

2 Comments

Filed under champion of loons, food, handmade, organic, stuff to stop you being naked, trinkets, weep

2 responses to “Well, at least they were charitable criminals

  1. I’m going to sound like an idiot but whatever, educate me, what is an unroofed shed? It sounds odd to mehh.

    /Idiot out.

  2. monsterbeans

    Like a cube, but without a roof. so they get sunlight, but can’t go outside. Taunting them with sunshine and freedom! RUBBISH

Leave a Reply

