“We could start flinging baked beans at the window like monekys fling poo. That would keep the customers away”

Microdermal (aka, what-on-earth-were-you-thinking-Holly) News: The two closest to my sternum are going batshit insane. The one that I originally caught on my bath towel in what seems so long ago it could have been 1996 has been in, then out, then it went back in again, now it is in limbo. The heel is under my skin, but the skin has not closed around it, leaving it vulnerable.

The one that I lost the disc for in Athens (probably lurking in the Agora somewhere. Archaelogists will dig it up in 100 and think they’ve found some bizarre Hellenic object. Until they test it, of course) was kinda bruised but OK. Then it decided to try and escape too. So it was ‘sweated out’ which had worked for the others really well. It was really red and sore though, unlike the others. Now its blistered. Which is awful.

So I’m ringing up Thou Art tomorrow and in some ways I want the bad two out of my body by the end of this week. I’m fed up, Leo is fed up and my body is obviously fed up. The other two are fine and so are all my other piercings. I hope they might give me some topical anaesthetic when I have them removed as having them put in was bad enough.

I’ve started to contribute on Yahoo UK Answers, partly because answering questions is fun (I mostly lurk in Beauty & Style so I can recommend non-animal tested products and answer piercing/mod questions) and also because I like the sound of my own voice. I wouldn’t write a blog, diary and have a running monologue in my head if I didn’t. I don’t actually like the ‘sound’ of my own voice. Hearing myself on video makes me gag because I sound like a 50 year old man with an all-over-the-place accent. Not the point. I noticed that on a lot of surface piercing questions on Yahoo Answers, there is often an answer that recommends getting microdermals as the safe, no-rejection METHOD OF THE FUTURE! More often than not, the question poster is someone who can barely describe what they want done. Microdermals are a semi-permanent mod. Whilst they don’t require blades to be put in, they are new technology. They fix themselves under your skin and nobody can agree on how to get them out (hemostats, needles or scalpels seem to be the three most popular). If I have mine removed I know there will be scars and I will have to deal with them. My body is hardly a perfect canvas anyway, so it is unlikely to matter. But it worries me that microdermals are being peddled as the one stop solution to surface piercings’ problems.

Anyway. Enough about that.

I’ve been meaning to post this for ages, I found it on Boing Boing a while back:

The Mandala of Perfect Happiness by Chris Harvey

I really like it, partly because of the beautifully combined colours, and the shapes they bring together. It makes me think of some post-apocalyptic city, where they melted down all of the 20th century’s useless plastic and refashioned it into a smiley-faced utopia in order to restore civilisation. I only hope that they do better at running the world than we do at the moment.

Everytime I look at it though, I always think of the Angkor Wat in Cambodia:

 

I mean, its not strictly the same shape, but South East Asian architecture in my mind has this tapered, skyward appearance. On a similar note, I love the the collection of South Asian Hindu figures at the V&A. Its like ‘oh, that one has stretched earlobes’….’that one too’ ….’YAY!’. I’m easily pleased.

 The Times gave away some free board and TV game CD-roms and one of them was Monopoly and I fear I have become addicted. I am crap at it though, and whenever one of the computer player’s goes bankrupt, do they ever give their properties and money to be, bollocks do they. If they do its all mortgaged and it is loads to unmortgage it.

This is getting long. On a final note, I might be adopting some Roborovski hamsters!

Leave a comment

Filed under Arty-farty, body modification, fancy stuff, weep

Leave a Reply

