My blood hurts

My friend Phil leant me Tom Baker’s The Boy Who Kicked Pigs today, after realising this is the sort of thing I like. He did after all find a kindred spirit in the joys of Monkey Dust. I am maybe a 1/4 of the way through Tom Baker’s tome and it is funny in that it is grotesque but looks like its for children. I really like the illustrations as well by David Roberts, and slightly weird line illustrations always conjure up images of Quentin Blake or Ronald Searle (Searle’s illustrations for Molesworth were the subject of a post that lie in my drafts folder, because it ended up getting boring, but check out Molesworth anyway.
I then remembered something equally macabre but childlike in the form of a stumble I came across a long time ago:
The Gashlycrumb Tinies by Edward Gorey
The name, Gashlycrumb Tinies, sounds like a deranged crew of Victorian orphans to me, possibly headed by Mr. Death and his attractive headgear up there. They run amok in London in spats but no shoes and shorts before befriending the little sweet boy in the Georgian townhouse (I imagine it would be Hector, he was after all, done in by a thug in the end) and they give him that ‘other side of the tracks’ experience that so many US teen romcoms have tried to convey but I have just achieved it in a short space of time with less trite dialogue and naff music. He robs some bread and drinks in the gin house after dark and is ‘done in’ by agents of the Tinies, whose loyalties move fast and you milksops in Peter Pan collars get left behinds, suckers.
Victorian orphans and the Peadofinder General’s outfit from Monkey Dust leads me onto:
A fancy, better suited and booted version of everyone’s perenial sixth-form registration time fave: CHAINSAW THE CHILDREN! Of course, the main challenge of form-time gaming was finding a gaming site that hadn’t been banned. We used to get quite creative sometimes. Our other favorite was Weboggle and Block Frenzy.
Chainsaw the Children fell into the same category for us as Kitten Cannon…funny, weird and not something to tell everyone about. A kitten cannon-eque game that held my attention for far too long a couple of years ago was the Death Jr. Hamster Challenge (see also the Death Jr. 2 Flaming Loo Roll game) Death Jr. has the added bonus of being about kids doing reaaaalllly bad things.
So. That was long, but I think you will find it satisfying. Like a good pizza or a cheap, relatively unscathed hooker.
2 Comments

Filed under champion of loons, funny, nerdy

2 responses to “My blood hurts

  1. Spunkmuncher

    Wow, that’s almost a year you’ve had that book without reading it…

Leave a Reply

